man all i can really think, looking at this gif set, is that i heard thor do a lot of “i” statements in Avengers+TDW+Ragnarok
“i saw you die” “i mourned you” etc
and it’s like. yeah. i don’t want to wave away his own emotional trauma bc it’s there and it’s valid and it’s good he’s not just shoving it under a carpet
but i kinda get the impression, from loki at least in the last gif, that loki feels it’s all rather too little too late
and i kinda agree?
yeah, it’s nice that you mourned your bro when he died. twice.
but how about you turn the focus off yourself for a quick sec
idk i’m not explaining myself well i don’t think but. Ragnarok tried hard to get me to believe that Thor had somehow moved past his emotional trauma and whatever, but the problem is that he did some of that off-camera, and also, there’s still the main problem that Thor had as a character in the first film: Everything is about him.
which honestly tells me that he hasn’t come as far as the Marvel writers want us to think
(and before anyone jumps on me: don’t. i’m not here to debate about how Thor is a perfect angel and Loki is forever and totally evil. i was sick of that debate in 2011 and i’m sick of it now.)
To me, Thor just seems peeved that HIS emotions are not prioritized by Loki…. but he never acknowledges that Loki had valid reasons to want to commit suicide in the 1st movie and to want Thor to think he died heroically rather than spend eternity back in the dungeons as Thor promised to do to him, in the 2nd movie… frankly I would have the exact same reaction as Loki and worse… Loki is too darn polite – and the scriptwriters want the audience to forget everything that happened and sympathise with Thor – just see everything from Thors self-centered viewpoint. Dammit Thor, when are you going to acknowledge Loki’s pain…Ha, I know, NEVER. Its only all about YOU. guh, 😠 …
Thor just doesn’t work as a hero at all for me because a hero is able to step outside of himself and deeply feel another persons pain, to show empathy and heart (remember Steve Rogers, remember T’challa? – my favourite heroes)… Thor cant even show empathy to his own ‘brother’ who he claims to have loved for a thousand years… it’s just such shit, compared with T’challa empathising with the personal pain which drove Nemo, who killed his father, and weeping for the rejection and pain of Killmonger, who tried to kill him and took his throne. Basically, I love T’Challa and the black panther characterization, for showing how a great man is one with empathy. Also he is so good with his sister Shuri and my god, is that a lovely portrayal of sibling love. No “know your place”, no insults about appearance or only knowing “tricks”, no refusing to visit them in prison, no pleasure from causing humiliation, no mind-games, no torture for fun, but genuine affection.